Access to and retention in schooling for people living in precarious housing in France

Objective

Impact

Partners

Facilitating the entry of the most excluded children into school

In France, despite a school enrolment rate of between 98% and 100% for children and young people aged between 6 and 16, thousands of children are still out of school because of their administrative situation (refugee and migrant children, living in precarious housing or shanty towns, with an itinerant lifestyle, undocumented, etc.).
These 'invisible' children, who often suffer racism, discrimination and stigmatisationThe only interlocutors are the associations who intervene in their living areas and accompany them in all their procedures (administrative, school, etc.). Indeed, the national education system's reception facilities, designed to facilitate their access to education, are struggling to reach them.

To support this project :

France |2018 À 2024|Access and Quality of Education & Education in Migration Situations

 department of seine-saint-denis (93)

The aim of the project

Since September 2018, Action Education has been supporting the Askola association in the implementation of this project aimed at facilitating the entry into school of the most excluded children. The project is organised around 4 axes: Encouraging children to stay in school and succeed at school and contributing to the social and professional integration of families. Supporting the families of these children in their administrative procedures (school enrolment, etc.); Raising awareness and/or supporting educational teams in welcoming children and their families; Helping children to succeed at school through educational activities and school mediation; Helping to strengthen the Askola salaried team (financing the posts of mediators and educators/field coordinator).

Country page France Credit Askola

What we supported

Key figures

  • 339 children were involved in the activities; among them, 200 were enrolled in 86 schools in 22 municipalities, mostly located in Seine-Saint-Denis (93), but also in Paris (75), Val de Marne (94) and Val d'Oise (95);
  • 170 families were monitored and supported in their administrative procedures and in monitoring their children's schooling via school mediation activities
  • 95 children (28%) were lost to follow-up during the year. In 47% of the cases, this was due to evictions, leading to breaks in schooling, and changes in living arrangements for them and their families.

children

families

Our partners

ASKOLA (poperational partner) and its partners *. Fédération du Crédit Mutuel Ile de France (financial partner in 2021. Fondation du Crédit Mutuel (financial partner in 2021 and 2022)

Find out about all the other projects carried out by Action Education in France in our latest Activity Report

*Association nationale recherche technologie ; Délégation interministérielle à l'hébergement et à l'accès au logement ; Département de la Seine-Saint-Denis ; Fondation BNP Paribas ; Fondation Caritas France ; Fondation de France ; Fondation Lucq Espérance ; Fondation Société Générale ; Préfet de la Seine-Saint-Denis ; Ville de Saint-Denis

All our projects on the same theme

Our news on the same theme

en_GB

Accès et maintien à la scolarisation des populations vivant en habitats précaires en France

Objectif

Impact

Partenaires

Faciliter l’entrée à l’école des enfants les plus exclus

En France, malgré un taux de scolarisation situé entre 98% et 100% pour les enfants et jeunes âgés de 6 à 16 ans, des milliers d’enfants sont toujours déscolarisés du fait de leur situation administrative (enfants réfugiés et migrants, vivant en habitats précaires ou en bidonville, au mode de vie itinérant, sans papiers, etc.)
Ces enfants « invisibles », qui subissent souvent racisme, discriminations et stigmatisations, ont pour seuls interlocuteurs les associations qui interviennent sur leurs lieux de vie et qui les accompagnent dans toutes leurs démarches (administratives, scolaires etc.). En effet, les dispositifs d’accueil de l’éducation nationale, destinés à leur faciliter l’accès à l’éducation, peinent à les atteindre.

Pour soutenir ce projet :

France |2018 À 2024|Accès et qualité de l’éducation & Education en situation de migration

 département de la seine-saint-denis (93)

L’objectif du projet

Depuis septembre 2018, Action Education soutient l’association Askola dans la mise en œuvre de ce projet visant à faciliter l’entrée à l’école des enfants les plus exclus. Le projet s’organise autour de 4 axes : Favoriser le maintien à l’école et la réussite scolaire et contribuer à l’insertion sociale et professionnelle des familles. Accompagner les familles de ces enfants dans leurs démarches administratives (inscription scolaire, etc.) ; Sensibiliser et/ou soutenir les équipes éducatives dans l’accueil des enfants et de leurs familles ; Amener les enfants vers la réussite scolaire par des activités éducatives et la médiation scolaire ; Contribuer au renforcement de l’équipe salariée d’Askola (financement de postes de médiateurs et d’éducateurs/coordinatrice terrain).

Page pays France Credit Askola

Ce que nous avons soutenu

Chiffres-clés

  • 339 enfants ont été concernés par les activités ; Parmi eux, 200 ont été scolarisés dans 86 établissements scolaires de 22 communes, majoritairement situées en Seine-Saint-Denis (93), mais aussi à Paris (75), dans le Val de Marne (94) et dans le Val d’Oise (95) ;
  • 170 familles ont été suivies et accompagnées dans leurs démarches administratives et dans le suivi du parcours scolaire de leurs enfants via les activités de médiation scolaire
  • 95 enfants (28%) ont été perdus de vue au fil de l’année. Dans 47% des cas, cela est dû à des expulsions, conduisant à des ruptures de scolarisation, et à des changements de lieux de vie pour eux et leurs familles.

enfants

familles

Nos partenaires

ASKOLA (partenaire opérationnel) et ses partenaires *. Fédération du Crédit Mutuel Ile de France (partenaire financier en 2021. Fondation du Crédit Mutuel (partenaire financier en 2021 et 2022)

Retrouvez tous les autres projets menés par Action Education en France dans notre dernier Rapport d’Activités

*Association nationale recherche technologie ; Délégation interministérielle à l’hébergement et à l’accès au logement ; Département de la Seine-Saint-Denis ; Fondation BNP Paribas ; Fondation Caritas France ; Fondation de France ; Fondation Lucq Espérance ; Fondation Société Générale ; Préfet de la Seine-Saint-Denis ; Ville de Saint-Denis

Tous nos projets sur la même thématique

Nos actualités sur la même thématique

fr_FR