Podcast workshops for young people in the Lyon area

In the Lyon area, the C.L.A.S.S.E.S associationwith the support of Action Education, is running podcast creation workshops for 16 young people with learning difficulties. Co-financed by the European Union, the workshops took place from mid-April. The aim of the workshops is to help young people find ways to build a future for themselves.

Their names are Suela, Ruth, Natalia, Léonardo, Maka, Mohamed, Indonésia, Tabitah, André, Cosmin, Rusalim, Leandro, Stef, Natalia, Narcissa and Amza. They are aged between 12 and 18. These young people are in contact with the Lyon-based association C.L.A.S.S.E.S (Collectif Lyonnais pour l'Accès à la Scolarisation et le Soutien aux Enfants des Squats). They have often moved from one place to another as their families have been evicted. Having only recently arrived in France, most of them have had little schooling and have a poor command of French. They sometimes wait many months for the French education system to offer them a place in a collège or lycée.

Young people who sometimes say to themselves "It's not worth continuing", "I'll wait until I'm 16 and then I'll work...", "What am I going to do?", "How can I do this? They don't always see the point of continuing their education. For parents, it is sometimes difficult to help their children with these questions. Despite all this, the desire of young people and their parents for a better future persists.

A team is being set up, accompanied by Hugo Lheureux, a podcast creator, to run these workshops: helping young people to formulate their questions, prepare and conduct interviews, first with each other, then with professionals. 

Precarious living conditions

Many families, victims of political, social and economic discrimination, have fled their countries of origin and are living in precarious conditions in Greater Lyon. These families suffer repeated expulsions and their children sometimes have great difficulty in effectively benefiting from the right to education. 

Since 2019, Action Education has been supporting and accompanying C.L.A.S.S.E.S., which facilitates access to schooling for children living in shanty towns, squats or temporary accommodation. The association's staff and volunteers help families with administrative formalities and facilitate links between the school, parents and children. C.L.A.S.S.E.S also informs teachers, school parents, social workers and town hall administrative staff about the living conditions of the families.

The association also enables professionals to discuss their practices with these children. C.L.A.S.S.E.S. works in a network on the ground with other associations working in the fields of schools, health, housing and employment. C.L.A.S.S.E.S. is involved both locally and nationally in the fight for these people's rights. 

Explore your future through podcasting and drawing

The team, working with Hugo Lheureux, helped the young people to express their desires for the future. How should they present themselves succinctly? What should they say about their plans? How should they express themselves?  

Interview with Amza

"My name is Amza, I'm 14 and I'm in Year 5.ème. I have a brother and a sister. I'm passionate about architecture and mini-craft. My favourite food is tacos. I live in Châtillon d'Azergues and go to collège Simone Weil. Things are going really well and I've got some great friends. I'm a boy who doesn't like to give up on his goals. My goals for this year are to be a bit more muscular, raise my grades a bit and improve my average a bit.

Illustration podcast workshop CLASSES project

The team, together with the podcast creator, also prepared the young people to conduct interviews with professionals, to help them discover different careers.

Interview with a care assistant working with the elderly by Natalia

"- Hello.

- Hello, my name is Natalia, I'm 14. Nice to meet you. 

- Nice to meet you. I'm Habiba. 

- So I wanted to know if the work was hard.

- Yes, it's not easy. On the other hand, it really is a very human job. You receive a lot. You give a lot, but physically it's hard. It's very difficult. Psychologically, too, because we see a lot of people who are affected morally and psychologically. Illness makes them very vulnerable, but it's a very demanding job. I've been doing it for 33 years. I'm a recent graduate. I've only been qualified for 6 months, but frankly it's a human job, so if you like contact with people, you like talking to people, you like talking to people, you like talking to people, this is the job for you.

Fred, an illustrator, sketched them during their workshops between words and drawings and guided them in the definition of characters seeking their place at school. By drawing, we can also talk... about guidance. 

black and white drawing workshop podcast project CLASSES

Uniforms and costumesa text written by young people in search of characters.

In Chechnya, everyone has a uniform at school. Boys wear trousers and a suit jacket, a shirt and a tie. Girls wear long skirts. Here in France it's strange, we all dress differently at school, sometimes like at the beach. 

It would be funny to imagine a schoolboy dressed like a French student in the middle of a Chechen class. Or someone in a Chechen kimono or uniform in the middle of a French class, or someone dressed like a schoolboy on a judo mat!

Drawing workshop podcast project CLASSES

Participate in Mag Junior 2024 on the theme of Let's live in the world!

Producing podcasts Let's talk about the future together!The young people supported by C.L.A.S.S.E.S. took part in Mag Junior 2024, as did a number of other young people. young people accompanied by our partner Stea in Romania or by Médecins du Monde in Bulgaria

These teenagers from France, Romania and Bulgaria, accompanied by artists and professionals, asked themselves questions about their relationship with their environment, their place in the world, their future - in short, about the way in which they would like to live their lives. living in the world

More information in the Mag Junior Let's live in the world! to be published in January 2024.

On the same theme :

Opinion column - ODA budget cuts: Action Education takes action

Children's rights

Action Education is a signatory to the Coordination Sud opinion piece published in Le Monde on 27 February 2024. The text, signed by more than 100 organisations, denounces the French government's decision to cut official development assistance (ODA) by 742 million euros. This decision contradicts France's commitments and the principles of international solidarity.

Lire la suite

2023 in pictures

Low literacy levels among children living in remote mountain areas are attributed to high drop-out rates among tribal children, who have difficulty understanding the language of instruction, which is Telugu. Vizianagaram district, Andhra Pradesh, India, 2023. Chandra Kiran

Action Education has stepped up its efforts in the face of persistent crises that are hitting the most vulnerable hardest. Discover the year 2023 through these three categories: access and quality of education, early childhood education, youth and adult education. These images bear witness to our determination to overcome the obstacles to a world where education is accessible to everyone.

Lire la suite

Related projects :

en_GB

Des ateliers podcasts pour les jeunes de l’agglomération Lyonnaise

Dans l’agglomération lyonnaise, l’association C.L.A.S.S.E.S, avec le soutien d’Action Education, mène des ateliers de création de podcasts auprès de 16 jeunes en difficulté scolaire. Co-financés par l’Union Européenne, les ateliers se sont déroulés à partir de la mi-avril. Ils ont pour objectif d’accompagner les jeunes à chercher des pistes pour se construire un avenir.

Ils s’appellent Suela, Ruth, Natalia, Léonardo, Maka, Mohamed, Indonésia, Tabitah, André, Cosmin, Rusalim, Leandro, Stef, Natalia, Narcissa et Amza. Ils sont âgés de 12 à 18 ans. Ces jeunes sont en contact avec l’association C.L.A.S.S.E.S (Collectif Lyonnais pour l’Accès à la Scolarisation et le Soutien aux Enfants des Squats) sur la Métropole de lyon. Ils ont souvent changé de lieux de vie, au gré des expulsions de leurs familles. Arrivés depuis peu de temps en France, ils n’ont pour la plupart pas été beaucoup à l’école et ne maitrisent pas bien le français. Ils attendent parfois de longs mois que l’Éducation Nationale ne leur propose une place en collège ou en lycée.

Des jeunes qui se disent parfois “Ça ne vaut pas le coup de continuer”, “J’attends mes 16 ans et je travaillerai…”, “Qu’est-ce que je vais faire ?”, “Comment y arriver ?”. Elles et ils ne voient pas toujours l’intérêt de poursuivre leur scolarité. Pour les parents, il est parfois difficile d’accompagner leurs enfants dans ces questionnements. Malgré tout cela, le désir des jeunes et des parents pour un avenir meilleur persiste.

Une équipe se met en place, accompagnée par Hugo Lheureux, créateur de podcasts, pour animer ces ateliers : accompagner les jeunes à formuler leurs interrogations, à préparer et à réaliser des interviews, entre eux pour commencer, puis auprès de professionnels. 

Des conditions de vie précaires

De nombreuses familles, victimes de discriminations politiques, sociales et économiques, ont fui leur pays d’origine et vivent dans la précarité sur le territoire du Grand Lyon. Ces familles subissent des expulsions à répétition et leurs enfants rencontrent parfois de grandes difficultés pour bénéficier effectivement du droit à l’éducation. 

Depuis 2019, Action Education soutient et accompagne C.L.A.S.S.E.S. qui facilite l’accès à la scolarisation des enfants vivant dans les bidonvilles, les squats ou les hébergements temporaires. Les salariés et les bénévoles de l’association accompagnent les familles dans leurs démarches administratives et facilitent les liens entre l’école, les parents et les enfants. C.L.A.S.S.E.S informe également les enseignants, les parents d’élèves de l’école, les travailleurs sociaux, les personnels administratifs des mairies, sur les conditions de vie des familles.

L’association permet aussi aux professionnels d’échanger sur leurs pratiques avec ces enfants. C.L.A.S.S.E.S. travaille en réseau sur le terrain avec d’autres associations intervenant dans le domaine de l’école, de la santé, du logement et de l’emploi. L’association participe, aussi bien localement que nationalement, aux luttes pour le respect des droits de ces personnes. 

Interroger son avenir grâce au podcast et au dessin

L’équipe en lien avec Hugo Lheureux a soutenu les jeunes dans l’expression de leurs désirs d’avenir. Comment se présenter succinctement ? Que dire de ses projets ? Comment s’exprimer ?  

Interview d’Amza

“Je m’appelle Amza, j’ai 14 ans, je suis en 5ème. J’ai un frère et une sœur. Je suis passionné par l’architecture et aussi par le jeu mini-craft. Mon plat préféré, c’est les tacos. J’habite à Châtillon d’Azergues, je suis au collège Simone Weil. Ça se passe très bien et j’ai des super potes. Je suis un garçon qui n’aime pas lâcher ses objectifs. Mes objectifs de cette année, c’est d’être un peu plus musclé, d’augmenter un peu mes notes, et améliorer un peu ma moyenne.”

Illustration atelier podcast projet CLASSES

L’équipe avec le créateur de podcasts a également préparé les jeunes à réaliser des interviews de professionnels afin de les soutenir dans la découverte de métiers.

Interview d’une aide-soignante auprès de personnes âgées par Natalia

“- Bonjour.

– Bonjour, moi je m’appelle Natalia, j’ai 14 ans. Enchantée. 

– Enchantée. Moi c’est Habiba. 

– Donc je voulais savoir si le travail était pénible.

– Oui, ce n’est pas facile. Par contre, c’est vraiment un travail qui est très humain. Tu reçois beaucoup. Tu donnes beaucoup mais physiquement c’est difficile. C’est très difficile. Psychologiquement, pareil, parce qu’on voit beaucoup de personnes affectées moralement et psychologiquement. Les maladies font qu’ils sont très vulnérables mais c’est un travail qui est très prenant. Moi, ça fait 33 ans que je le fais. Je suis toute jeune diplômée. Ça fait plus de 6 mois que je suis diplômée mais sincèrement c’est un travail qui est humain donc si tu aimes le contact avec les gens, tu aimes dialoguer, t’aimes bien parler, t’aimes bien échanger, c’est fait pour toi.”

Fred, un illustrateur, les a croqués pendant leurs ateliers entre paroles et dessins et les a guidés dans la définition de personnages cherchant leur place à l’école. En dessinant, on peut aussi parler… d’orientation. 

dessin noir et blanc atelier podcast projet CLASSES

L’uniforme, le costume, un texte écrit par les jeunes en quête de personnages.

En Tchétchénie, à l’école tout le monde a un uniforme. Pour les garçons un pantalon et une veste de costume, une chemise et une cravate. Pour les filles une jupe longue. Ici en France c’est bizarre, à l’école on est habillés tous différemment, des fois comme à la plage. 

Ça serait drôle d’imaginer un collégien habillé comme en France au milieu d’une classe Tchétchène. Ou quelqu’un en kimono ou en uniforme tchétchène au milieu d’une classe de France, ou quelqu’un habillé comme au collège sur un tapis de judo !

Dessin atelier podcast projet CLASSES

Participer au Mag Junior 2024 sur la thématique Habitons le monde !

En réalisant les podcasts Ensemble, parler d’avenir !, les jeunes accompagnés par C.L.A.S.S.E.S. ont participé au Mag Junior 2024 tout comme des jeunes accompagnés par notre partenaire Stea en Roumanie ou encore par Médecins du Monde en Bulgarie

Ces adolescents en France, Roumanie et Bulgarie, accompagnés par des artistes et professionnels, se sont questionnés sur leur lien à leur environnement, sur leur place dans le monde, sur leur avenir, bref, sur la manière dont elles et ils souhaitent habiter le monde

Plus d’infos dans le Mag Junior Habitons le monde ! à paraître en janvier 2024.

Sur le même thème :

Les projets liés :

fr_FR